How much weed can you purchase at a dispensary? What makes a dispensary legal? These are just some of the questions that residents or visitors of Long Beach are asking as more and more marijuana dispensaries pop up.
As society’s cannabis narrative shifts and cannabis products become more accessible via dispensaries and dispensary delivery services, many consumers are wondering what is legal and what isn't. We’ve created an overview of cannabis laws in Long Beach so everyone can enjoy their cannabis responsibly and legally.
How Much Marijuana Can Someone Carry?
In Long Beach, you can have up to 1 oz of weed with you when out in public. On January 1, 2018, California changed its laws, and Proposition 64 came into effect, allowing adults 21 years of age and over to possess and grow specified amounts of marijuana for recreational use. According to this new law, any person who is at least 21 years old can possess up to 1 oz of dried cannabis or 28.5 g in concentrated form, including edibles like brownies or gummies.
How Much Marijuana Can You Purchase at a Dispensary
Years before Prop 64, Prop 215 legalized medical marijuana, allowing adults between the ages of 18 and 20 years old the ability to legally purchase and possess up to 8 ounces of marijuana and 12 live plants with a medical marijuana license obtained through a doctor’s recommendation.
Recreational customers in California can purchase up to 1 ounce of cannabis and up to 8 grams of concentrate per day. So as long the quantity fits within those guidelines - you can rest assured you’re within the legal limits.
Selling Medical Marijuana to Minors
Selling marijuana to minors is always illegal, regardless of whether it is for medical or recreational use. In addition, people and dispensaries who sell cannabis to people of legal age face significant penalties.
What Makes a Dispensary Legal?
Dispensaries in California must be licensed through the state of the Bureau of Cannabis Control. This ensures that dispensaries are following the laws set out by Proposition 64, like checking customers' IDs to make sure they are 21 years or older before purchasing any products from them.
Before entering a dispensary, it’s important to note that not all dispensaries have licenses yet – which means they are operating illegally.
In order to avoid any potential fines or run-ins with law enforcement, customers need to make sure they purchase their products from dispensaries that have licenses through the state of California. If you're unsure whether or not a dispensary has a permit, contact the Bureau of Cannabis Control at (833) 768-5880 to find out more information.
An easy way to check whether the dispensary you’re visiting is licensed, look for a Licensed Cannabis Store Emblem displayed in the business’ window. For example, Chronic Dispensary is a licensed and legally operating dispensary. We make sure to follow all necessary legal guidelines and laws set by the state.
Smoking Marijuana in Public, Long Beach
It's against the law to smoke or vape cannabis in public spaces, including at or outside of licensed dispensaries. Your best bet is to wait until you’re home or at someone’s private residence to start your smoke sesh, or visit a cannabis lounge.
Marijuana Laws in Long Beach at a Glance
It’s important to follow the laws and guidelines stipulated by the state of California when carrying, purchasing or consuming cannabis products. By visiting Chronic Dispensary, customers can take solace knowing that they are purchasing products from a legal, licensed dispensary.